Land of Mine

Dinamarca. 2015. Color. 100 min. Ficción. Vídeo.
  • Film Director: Martin Pieter Zandvliet.
  • Scriptwriter: Martin Pieter Zandvliet.
  • Cast: Joel Basman; Mikkel Boe Følsgaard; Laura Bro; Louis Hofmann; Roland Møller; Zoe Zandvliet.
  • Cinematography: Camilla Hjelm.
  • Editing: Molly Marlene Stensgaard; Per Sandholt.
  • Art director: Seth Turner.
  • Music: Sune Martin.
  • Special Effects: Gilberto Arpioni; Svend Hübner; Carl Oscar Høimark.
  • Producer: Louise Birk Petersen; Malte Grunert; Arno Neubauer; Mikael Rieks.
  • Co-production: Alemania

In post-World War II Denmark, the Danish government puts their hated German prisoners of war to work clearing the 1.5 million land mines from the western beaches of the country. At one such beach, Sgt. Carl Leopold Rasmussen finds himself in charge of one such labor unit and finds they are largely all inexperienced boys. As the boys struggle to complete and survive their dangerous work, Sgt. Rasmussen's hate for Germans gradually cools as he grows to understand the horrific situation these child soldiers are in even as the mines claim more and more victims. Eventually, the boys and the Sergeant must decide what can be done in a situation that would be later be denounced by later generations as the worst war crime in Danish history.

Martin Pieter Zandvliet

Martin Zandvliet (born 1971) made his feature film debut with 'Applause', winning Paprika Steen several awards for her performance as an actress in distress trying to restore control over her life. The next feature 'Funny Man', a biopic about a famous Danish comedian played by Nikolaj Lie Kaas, which became the number one Danish box-office hit of the year. 'Land of Mine' is Zandvliet's third collaboration with producer Mikael Rieks. Zandvliet has also co-written the scripts for Mads Matthiesen's two feature films 'Teaddy Bear' and 'The Model'. Next in the pipeline is Zandvliet's English-language debut, the US production 'The Outsider', to be shot in Japan with Jared Leto in the lead.

"The Model" (2016) / "Teaddy Bear" (2012) / "Dirch" (2011) / "Applaus" (2009) / "Mon petit-enfant" (2008) / "Jeg Somregel" (2008) / "Angels of Brooklyn" (2002)